Nitro Blog

#NitroProud: CEO Sam Chandler Wins the EY Australia Entrepreneur of the Year Award – Emerging Category

Set against a backdrop of a grand brass band, sumptuous lights and applause, Nitro CEO Sam Chandler took to the stage at Crown Palladium in Melbourne last night to accept his award as the national emerging category winner of the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year, from Australian sporting legend and Tour de France winner, Cadel Evans.


Nitro CEO and Founder, Sam Chandler accepts the EY Australia Entrepreneur of the Year Award – Emerging Category.

Addressing the grand ballroom filled to the brim with top business leaders, entrepreneurs and supporters, Sam shared the many reasons why 2014 continues to be a great year: “2014 has been a pivotal year for Nitro – we’ve added 75 new Nitronauts to our global team, we launched new offices in Dublin and St. Petersburg, and most recently, secured a $15m funding round from US firm Battery Ventures, so this award is definitely another highlight as we close out our most successful year to date.”


Celebrating the win with Nitronauts from the Melbourne office, along with some of our best supporters.

True to form, Sam also showed his appreciation for those who have traveled on this journey with him: “I’m truly honoured and humbled to be recognized among so many other inspiring entrepreneurs, and while I’m the one to accept this award, I do so on behalf of the amazing team we have at Nitro, without whom building this business simply wouldn’t be possible.”

Sam added: “I’m also incredibly grateful for the kindness and generosity of the Australian business community in supporting Nitro’s vision from its very humble beginnings as a scrappy start-up in Melbourne which is something we will always remember.”


Nitro CEO and Founder, Sam Chandler at the EY Australia Entrepreneur of the Year – 2014 National Judges’ reception.

The EY 2014 judges acknowledged Chandler’s vision and leadership driving Nitro to global success: “With Nitro, Sam has taken a big risk by going up against some of the big giants in terms of document sharing and collaboration. But his innovative concept has seen the business grow into a serious challenger.”

Congratulations to Joe Davenport and Owen Kerr of Pepperstone for winning the 2014 Australian Entrepreneur Of The Year award and the National Services category. Heartiest congratulations also to category winners: Peter Freedman of RØDE Microphones (National Industry category), Jon Stewart of Aurora Oil & Gas Limited (National Listed category), Jean Madden of Street Swags (National Social Entrepreneur category), and Chris Dance and Matt Doran of PaperCut Software International (National Technology category)


Winners: Peter Freedman, Jon Stewart, Jean Madden, Joe Davenport, Cadel Evans, Owen Kerr, Chris Dance, Matt Doran, and Sam Chandler

About EY Entrepreneur of the Year

The EY Entrepreneur of the Year awards are the most prestigious of their kind in the world. Now in their 14th year in Australia, they recognise and celebrate individuals who are leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses. With regional, national and global programs in more than 145 cities in over 60 countries, EY’s Entrepreneur of the Year awards have recognised more than 10,000 entrepreneurs around the world, including over 1,500 Australians and New Zealanders.